lovely diacritic?


Is Glee Project not so welcoming of people’s individuality afterall?
5 May, 2012, 2:50 am
Filed under: Media | Tags: ,

Only recently then I discovered Glee Project Season 1. I know it’s pretty lag but I guess it takes some time for American TV to be aired in Singapore. Today, I watched the first episode as it was the only episode that is free on Mio TV. Cameron Mitchell caught my eyes as his voice had a special blend of both my favourite singers – James Morrison and Jason Mraz, and his falsettos are just amazing. I really like the whole idea of how Glee Project attracts different people and provides people with opportunities that they could never dream of. It redefines media and spreads the message that viewers need not be attracted by model-good-looking people but instead, brings in people of different sizes, height, looks, etc. However, Cameron’s decision to leave the show because of his belief reflects the irony of Glee. Due to Glee’s consistent use of sexual content, it has eliminated people with beliefs like Cameron’s to not be comfortable to be who they are if they were to be casted in the show. I am glad this happened as it reflects a group of people that Ryan Murphy has overlooked and he should rethink about the constant use of sex to sell the show and allow people like Cameron to not struggle being who they are. Besides, is this not what Glee is all about?


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment